As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. We may also earn a commission from other retailers linked on this page, at no extra cost to you.
Introduction: What Cartier servicing may cost
Cartier’s service quotation is organized around the work a watch requires rather than one universal fee. It distinguishes services including a full service, battery service and polishing, and gives starting prices and minimum turnaround times for those categories. That makes the relevant Cartier service cost dependent first on the type of attention being requested.
The same quotation covers more than movement work. Cartier indicates that it offers restoration, bracelet intervention and bracelet cleaning, as well as engraving, hot stamping and a functional check; some of these services include stated delay conditions, minimum delays or additional charges for components. Its published figures are indicative minimum prices, may vary and are subject to change, so they should not be treated as a guaranteed final bill.
A quotation may also depend on the movement’s complexity, the watch’s age and condition, the parts required and the provider carrying out the work—Cartier’s authorized service network or an independent watchmaker. Published starting points from Japan and the United States are reported as broadly similar, although national price lists remain market-specific. Independent UK specialists also advertise full and basic service packages with warranties and turnaround estimates, providing an alternative to Cartier boutiques. The sections that follow compare service levels, turnaround considerations, regional pricing and the practical trade-offs between Cartier and an independent specialist.
Quick answer: Budget for a tiered service, not one flat fee

For a realistic Cartier service cost, budget by service tier rather than relying on one flat figure:
- Quartz battery replacement: $45–$55.
- Basic cleaning and adjustment: $280–$500.
- Complete service: $500–$3,000, depending on complexity.
A movement overhaul alone is reported at $1,000–$3,000, so it can exceed the expectation set by a standard complete-service estimate. The final bill depends on the movement, age and condition, required parts, and whether Cartier or an independent watchmaker performs the work. Cartier states that its listed prices are indicative, subject to change, and minimum prices; restoration and replacement components can therefore add to the total.
What matters most when estimating Cartier service cost

“Service” covers several different jobs, and that distinction is the starting point for estimating Cartier service cost. Cartier’s own service quote separates full service, battery service and polishing, each with its own starting price and minimum turnaround time. It also lists functional checks, restoration, bracelet intervention and bracelet cleaning as separate services rather than assuming that every watch needs the same treatment.
A full service is therefore not interchangeable with a battery change or a polish. A functional check may be appropriate when the owner wants the watch assessed without commissioning broader work. Restoration is quoted separately, while bracelet intervention can add the cost of components to the service charge. Bracelet cleaning is another distinct option, useful when the bracelet needs attention but does not necessarily require component work. Cartier states that its listed prices are indicative, minimum prices subject to change, so a starting figure should not be treated as the final invoice.
Third-party reported ranges provide useful context, but they are not Cartier’s official universal price list. Bob’s Watches reports $45–$55 for a quartz battery replacement, $280–$500 for a basic cleaning and adjustment, $500–$3,000 for a complete service, and $1,000–$3,000 for a movement overhaul. It also reports $50–$200 for crystal replacement, $300–$800 for bracelet or strap replacement, and component replacement from $190 plus parts. These figures should be read as reported ranges, not promises from Cartier.
The main variables are movement complexity, the watch’s age and condition, the parts required, and the provider carrying out the work—Cartier or an independent watchmaker. A simple quartz service and a complicated mechanical movement do not present the same inspection or repair burden, while damage, worn components or a replacement crystal can move a quote beyond routine maintenance. In the UK, an independent specialist may offer an alternative route: SwissMade advertises full and basic service packages, warranties and turnaround estimates, although those offerings should be checked directly before authorizing work.
Finally, Cartier is reported to recommend servicing every six years for optimal performance. That is a maintenance reference, not an automatic requirement for every watch: service history, running behavior, water-resistance needs and the condition found during assessment should inform the decision.
Budget, watch condition, and service choice

Budget, watch condition, and service choice
There is no single Cartier service cost that applies to every watch. Cartier’s service quote separates full service, battery service, and polishing, each with its own stated starting price and minimum turnaround. That structure makes the first decision one of scope: identify the problem before agreeing to the most extensive package.
- A quartz watch that has stopped: ask whether battery service is appropriate before authorizing a full service. Cartier lists battery work separately from full service and polishing, so the quote should explain why additional work is being recommended.
- A watch that still runs: ask whether the proposal is routine maintenance, a response to a specific fault, or both. The estimate should state what work is included and whether any additional parts or labor require approval.
- Cosmetic wear: treat polishing as a separate choice rather than an automatic part of mechanical servicing. Cartier lists polishing independently, with its own starting price and minimum delay. If you approve it, ask what finish is intended and whether the work is limited to the case, bracelet, or another component.
- Impact damage or erratic running: request a diagnosis before approving replacement parts or a complete overhaul. Movement complexity, the watch’s age and condition, the need for replacement parts, and the choice between Cartier and an independent watchmaker can all affect the eventual amount.
The estimate matters particularly when the watch is old, uncommon, or in poor condition. For restoration work, Cartier indicates that the quote includes a cost estimate and a minimum delay. Its listed prices are indicative, may vary, and are minimum prices subject to change. In practical terms, a starting price is a reference point, not a guaranteed final invoice. Ask for the reported fault, required work, replacement components, and any optional cosmetic work to be identified separately before authorizing the job.
Independent specialists can provide another route, although their package definitions need to be compared line by line. SwissMade advertises Cartier basic maintenance and full-service packages with stated starting prices and warranties. SwissMade says its basic maintenance carries a one-year warranty, while its full service is described as including movement disassembly, ultrasonic cleaning, genuine-parts replacement, and a two-year warranty. These are the provider’s stated terms, so confirm the exact work covered, the parts policy, and the exclusions in writing.
SwissMade states that it offers free diagnostics and a written estimate. It also gives a stated turnaround of eight to 12 weeks. Its published description says that the service includes testing for timing accuracy, water-resistance pressure, and a seven-day quality-control period. Those details can help when comparing estimates, but the provider should confirm that they apply to the particular Cartier and service selected. SwissMade also states that it does not offer battery-only replacements as an official Cartier service center.
The right comparison is therefore not simply Cartier versus an independent workshop, or one headline price versus another. Compare the diagnosis, the work included, the warranty, the turnaround, and the process for approving additional damage discovered after disassembly. Because Cartier’s published figures are minimum prices subject to change, model-specific condition and the work ultimately approved remain decisive when assessing the final Cartier service cost.
Cartier versus an independent service center: options compared

Cartier versus an independent service center: options compared
The right comparison is not simply the headline Cartier service cost. Cartier separates its offering into several services, while SwissMade advertises full-service and basic-maintenance packages with different stated warranties. The scope of the work, the watch’s condition, the parts required, and the service provider can all affect the final quotation.
| Service route | What is established | Stated warranty or timing | What to confirm |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cartier full service | Cartier provides a starting price and minimum delay for a full service. Its listed prices are indicative, may vary, and are minimum prices subject to change. | The cited information gives a minimum delay, but does not establish a universal completion time or warranty term. | Request a model-specific quotation. Confirm whether the proposed work includes additional parts or services, since the available information does not establish a universal diagnostic scope or genuine-parts policy. |
| Cartier battery service | Cartier lists battery service separately, with its own price and minimum delay. | The cited listing does not establish a warranty term. | Confirm whether the watch requires battery service alone or a broader inspection. The available information does not establish the full diagnostic scope of this service. |
| Cartier polishing and other work | Cartier lists polishing with a price and minimum delay. Its quote also indicates that functional checks, restoration, bracelet intervention, bracelet cleaning, engraving, and hot stamping are available, with timing or cost conditions depending on the service. | The cited information does not establish a universal warranty for these services. | Ask which intervention is appropriate and whether components or restoration work would be charged separately. A polishing quotation should not be treated as a quotation for mechanical servicing. |
| Independent specialist full service | SwissMade advertises a Cartier Full Service with a starting price. The supplied information does not specify the amount. SwissMade states that the package includes disassembly, ultrasonic cleaning, and genuine-parts replacement. | SwissMade states a turnaround of eight to twelve weeks. It also states that full Cartier services carry a two-year warranty covering workmanship, fitted parts, movement accuracy, and water resistance. | Confirm the final quotation and the exact work proposed for the individual watch. The supplied information does not establish the independent center’s diagnostic scope beyond the stated package inclusions. |
| Independent basic maintenance | SwissMade advertises Cartier Basic Maintenance from a starting price, but the amount is not specified in the supplied information. | SwissMade states that basic maintenance carries a one-year warranty covering workmanship and fitted parts. A separate turnaround is not confirmed. | SwissMade states that it does not offer battery-only replacements as an official Cartier service center. Confirm whether basic maintenance is suitable or whether the watch requires a more comprehensive service. |
How to read the published starting prices
Reported official entry-level figures from Japan and the United States are broadly similar, but they do not form a complete UK price list or provide a model-by-model quotation. The reported figures are starting prices, and the Japanese figures are stated to be before parts. Treat any published entry figure as a reference point until the provider has assessed the watch and confirmed the work.
Reported Japanese-market information states that Cartier applies the same service terms to grey-market watches as to watches bought through an authorized channel, including watches sent for an authorized overhaul after purchase from a second-hand dealer. That evidence concerns Japan, so the relevant local policy should be confirmed before sending a watch.
A practical comparison checklist
- Define the service: distinguish a battery service, basic maintenance, full service, polishing, restoration, or bracelet work before comparing quotations. Cartier lists these as separate categories.
- Separate the starting price from the final quote: Cartier states that its prices are indicative minimums subject to change, while the SwissMade package prices are presented as starting prices.
- Check what the warranty covers: SwissMade states broader coverage for its full service than for basic maintenance, including movement accuracy and water resistance for the former.
- Ask about timing: Cartier’s cited listings provide minimum delays for several services, while SwissMade states an eight-to-twelve-week turnaround for its service offering.
- Confirm parts and additional work: movement complexity, the watch’s age and condition, required replacement parts, and the choice between Cartier and an independent watchmaker are identified as cost factors.
For that reason, the most useful comparison is between scope, stated warranty, turnaround, and the possibility of additional work—not between starting prices alone. Cartier offers separately listed service categories, while SwissMade presents full-service and basic-maintenance alternatives with different stated coverage.
Pros and cons of each Cartier service route

Pros and cons of each Cartier service route
The right service route depends on the work required and on what matters most to the owner: Cartier’s own quotation, a defined independent package, a shorter intervention, or documented warranty coverage. There is no single flat Cartier service cost. Cartier describes its listed prices as indicative minimums that may vary and change, while its quotation separates services such as full service, battery service, and polishing.
Cartier service and restoration
- Best suited to: Owners who place priority on Cartier’s own quotation, restoration work, or a clearly itemized brand-channel service. Cartier indicates that restoration is available with a cost estimate and a minimum delay.
- Advantages: The quotation can distinguish restoration from other work and also identifies services such as functional checks, engraving, and bracelet intervention. This is useful when the watch requires more than routine movement maintenance or when several separate jobs need to be considered.
- Trade-offs: The quoted figures are not guaranteed final totals: Cartier says its listed prices are minimum prices, are indicative, and may change. Delays can also depend on the service selected; Cartier gives delay conditions for functional checks and bracelet-related work, while restoration has its own stated minimum delay.
Independent SwissMade full service
- Best suited to: Owners seeking an alternative to a Cartier boutique and willing to compare an advertised independent package with the brand’s quotation. SwissMade advertises full and basic service packages with warranty and turnaround estimates.
- Advertised scope: SwissMade describes its full service as a movement overhaul involving full disassembly, ultrasonic cleaning, and movement inspection. It states that genuine Cartier parts are used and that certified watchmakers perform the work. The provider also says that gaskets and seals are replaced to restore water resistance to the original factory specifications.
- Timing and warranty: SwissMade states a turnaround of eight to 12 weeks. It says that testing includes timing accuracy to COSC standards, water-resistance pressure testing, and a seven-day quality-control period. Its stated full-service warranty lasts two years and covers workmanship, fitted parts, movement accuracy, and water resistance.
- Trade-offs: These are SwissMade’s advertised procedures and terms, so the scope, parts policy, testing, exclusions, and warranty should be confirmed in writing before authorization. An independent route may suit a defined overhaul, but a restoration request or a broader cosmetic intervention should be quoted separately rather than assumed to be included.
Basic maintenance or a limited intervention
- Best suited to: A limited intervention is the proportionate choice when the issue does not call for the full movement overhaul described by SwissMade. The provider states that its basic maintenance service carries a one-year comprehensive warranty covering workmanship and fitted parts.
- Advantages: A narrower scope can make the work easier to define when the owner is addressing a specific maintenance requirement rather than commissioning a complete service. The practical benefit depends on what the provider agrees to inspect, adjust, or replace, so those items should appear on the written estimate.
- Trade-offs: Basic maintenance is not the same package as a full overhaul. Ask what is excluded, whether water-resistance testing is included, and which warranty applies. SwissMade also states that it does not offer battery-only replacements as an official Cartier service centre.
Before approving any route, ask for a written scope and compare like with like. Confirm whether the job is restoration, full service, basic maintenance, or a separate bracelet or cosmetic intervention; whether genuine Cartier parts are included; whether polishing is listed separately; and what delay and warranty terms apply. Cartier identifies separate quotation and delay conditions for restoration, functional checks, and bracelet work. SwissMade states that its full-service process includes pressure testing and quality-control checks, but those details should still be recorded in the authorization documents.
For collectors, the decision is therefore not simply a comparison of advertised prices. Cartier’s route emphasizes the brand’s quotation and restoration channel; SwissMade offers an independently advertised full-service scope, stated turnaround, and warranty; and basic maintenance is appropriate only when its narrower remit matches the watch’s actual requirement. If the condition, movement work, or desired finish is uncertain, request a written diagnosis before choosing the package.
Recommended watches

Recommended watches
This guide does not point to a Cartier model to buy. The more useful decision for someone assessing a Cartier is how to approach its maintenance: the appropriate service route depends on the work required, the watch’s condition, and whether Cartier or an independent watchmaker is the better fit.
That makes a written, model-specific estimate more useful than a generic headline Cartier service cost. Cartier distinguishes between several types of work, including full service, battery service, and polishing, each with its own starting price and minimum turnaround time. Cartier also states that its listed prices are indicative, may vary, and are minimum prices subject to change. Treat any published starting figure as a budgeting reference, not a guaranteed final bill.
Reported figures illustrate the range. A basic service is priced at $280–$500, while a complete service is reported at $500–$3,000, depending on complexity. A movement overhaul is reported at $1,000–$3,000, and component replacement starts at $190 before the cost of parts. Those figures can help establish an initial budget, but an estimate remains necessary because the final scope of work may differ.
More limited repairs can also affect the calculation. Reported prices for quartz Cartier battery replacement are $45–$55, crystal replacement is $50–$200, and bracelet or strap replacement is $300–$800. Cartier also lists bracelet intervention and bracelet cleaning as available services, with components charged for bracelet intervention. The main reported cost factors are movement complexity, the watch’s age and condition, replacement parts, and whether an authorized Cartier service or an independent watchmaker performs the work.
For a vintage, heavily worn, or modified Cartier, ask for the restoration requirement and cost before making a purchase decision. Cartier indicates that restoration is provided with a cost estimate and a minimum delay. Independent specialist UK centers also advertise full and basic service packages with warranties and turnaround estimates as alternatives to Cartier boutiques. If the service history is unclear, add the likely work to the total acquisition budget—or reconsider the purchase if the estimate no longer makes financial sense. In this context, choosing the right service route is more valuable than selecting another watch.
Frequently asked questions about Cartier service cost
How much does a full Cartier service typically cost?
Published pricing guidance places a complete Cartier service at $500–$3,000, depending on complexity, while a movement overhaul alone is estimated at $1,000–$3,000. Cartier’s own quote uses starting prices, and says those prices are indicative, subject to change, and may exclude additional work or parts. Treat any headline figure as a budgeting range, not a guaranteed final bill.
What does Cartier include in a full service versus basic maintenance or battery service?
Cartier separates full service, battery service, and polishing into distinct services, each with its own starting price and minimum turnaround. A quartz battery replacement is commonly estimated at $45–$55, while basic cleaning and adjustment is estimated at $280–$500. A full service is the more extensive tier; ask for the written scope before authorizing work, particularly if polishing or restoration is also proposed.
How long does Cartier take to service a watch, and are there quicker options?
Cartier’s service quote gives a minimum delay for full service, battery service, and polishing, but the available facts do not specify those times. Cartier also notes that functional checks can face boutique-dependent delays and that restoration has a minimum delay. An independent UK provider, SwissMade, states an eight- to 12-week turnaround, but that is its estimate rather than a guaranteed faster option.
Does the country where the watch is serviced affect the price?
Reported official starting prices in Japan and the United States are close: Japan is reported at roughly ¥66,000 and up for quartz and automatic three-hand watches, while the US page is reported at approximately $430 for complete service. Another comparison places the two entry prices within about $12. Local taxes, exchange rates, parts, and the final diagnosis can still affect the amount you pay.
Will Cartier service a grey-market or second-hand watch at the same price?
Available reporting states that Cartier does not distinguish between watches bought through an authorized channel and those bought on the grey market or from a second-hand dealer for authorized overhaul. That supports the expectation of the same published service terms, but the final quote can still change with movement complexity, condition, required parts, and the scope of work.
Is an independent UK service center cheaper or riskier than Cartier?
An independent route can provide a cost alternative, but compare the written scope, parts policy, turnaround, and warranty rather than assuming it is automatically cheaper or riskier. SwissMade advertises genuine Cartier parts, certified watchmakers, an eight- to 12-week turnaround, a two-year warranty on full service, and a one-year warranty on basic maintenance. These are the provider’s claims, so verify them before proceeding.
Final advice: Get the diagnosis and the scope in writing

Before authorizing work, ask for the diagnosis and scope in writing. The estimate should identify the service tier, starting price, expected parts cost, whether polishing or restoration is included, expected turnaround, and the warranty. Ask how removed or replaced original components will be handled, particularly if the watch has provenance or collecting importance.
- Compare like with like: a battery service is not equivalent to a complete movement overhaul.
- Treat any headline Cartier service cost as indicative until the watch has been inspected. Cartier states that listed prices are minimums and may change, while condition and parts requirements can alter the final bill.
Choose the provider whose documented scope, warranty, and treatment of original components best fit the watch’s value and significance.









